New clickies.

If you’ve visited my blog recently, you may have noticed a couple of new additions to my sidebar.

Banned Books Week

Banned Books Week – which is going on right now! – is, to quote the official website, the national book community’s annual celebration of the freedom to read. In addition to giving all bookworms an official excuse to read and promote reading, the event seeks to raise awareness of the literary censorship that is still going on in America. (Yes, you read that right. Books are still being challenged and banned here in the States.)

Even if you’re not Stateside, feel free to join me in celebrating the freedom to read by picking up a banned or challenged book today.

Nanowrimo

Nanowrimo – or National Novel Writing Month – is an insane (and insanely fun) novel-writing marathon run by the super awesome folks over at the Office of Letters and Light. Held every November, Nanowrimo pitches the following challenge to all interested parties: write a 50,000-word novel by the end of the month. (Roughly computed, that’s 100 single-spaced pages of original fiction. Yeow!)

I plan to write again this year, and I’m super excited about it! Still figuring out a plot – which I hear is kind of important –  but I am optimistic that I’ll have something in time. In the meanwhile, I’ve dusted off my Nano-blog and will be posting a mini series there featuring ideas on how to make the most out of this month in preparation for the event. Check it out if you’re curious!

* * *

P. S. – Apologies for the radio silence. I’ve finished a few books since I last dropped by, and I’m feeling very hopeful that a few reflections will be surfacing blog-side shortly… Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

