HAPPY FRIDAY: Suit up.

Happy Friday! I hope you are all doing well. This week has been all about Suits. And bikes. And Kristen Stewart. But mostly Suits. Decided to pay homage by wearing a blazer to work today. Not a suit, exactly, but hey the pocket square counts for something, right? Extra points for being vintage too!

♥ ♥ ♥

(Source: Couture Snob)

♥ So. Suits. I’m sorry I wrote you off initially. What was I thinking? Of course you’re a great show! Probably the best show that has come out recently. What’s not to like about you? You have snappy, smart dialogue; impeccable costumes; bromance; excellent chemistry between the actors; and the art direction is just fabulously sleek. Love it! I also appreciate how the characters are complex. Take Harvey Specter for instance. He can be hardnosed to a fault, and yeah, he’s not averse to pursuing more, shall we say, creative ways of closing a case; but underneath it all he’s a good guy, not to mention loyal to those who are close to him.

[Harvey]’s tough as nails, but he’s fair. He has a huge heart, but displays it behind everybody’s back. So he’ll stand up for Mike, but not to his face. He’ll go to Jessica, and say, ‘You’ve got to give this kid a second chance,’ and he’ll go to Lewis and go, ‘Are you nuts? You’re not gonna take this kid. He’s mine, and there’s no way you’re gettin’ near him.’ He believes that Mike is absolutely his ace in the hole, and that he’s a younger version of who Harvey was. He messes up and makes mistakes and he does things in a rogue way because he thinks he’s being clever, and sometimes he gets caught. That’s what Harvey did early on and still does, but he just gets away with it.

– Gabriel Macht, in Entertainment Weekly

♥ Thumbs up to the piece on Kristen Stewart in July’s issue of Vanity Fair. And a hearty \m/ to the lady herself.

♥ I approve of this. May I propose, my writerly friends, to convene at a coffee shop and do this together?

♥ As much as I adore Amelia, I admit these beauties from Linus Bikes are more my style, at least aesthetically. I like that their design is elegant and non-fussy, and that their colors are more classy than punchy. For anyone interested, Linus Bikes is hosting yet another giveaway – simply ‘like’ them on Facebook and fill out a quick application, and you’re in the running for any model your heart so desires!

♥ ♥ ♥

Heard this song on an episode of Suits, and sort of fell in love with it. I like how the melody has an attitude about itself – not quite mischievous, not quite smug … it’s something in between, with a dash of suave.

You’re a fraud and you know it
But it’s too good to throw it all away
Anyone would do the same
You’ve got ’em going
And you’re careful not to show it
Sometimes you even fool yourself a bit
It’s like magic
But it’s always been a smoke and mirrors game
Anyone would do the same

* * *

This song – Also heard on Suits, but I’ve had it on my iPod for months. But for whatever reason it sounded way better coming from the TV – er, laptop – than it did coming from my headphones. Maybe it’s the cool factor.

And I shake shake shake like a leaf
And I’m lyin’ lyin’ lyin’ through my teeth
I got a pocket full of handshakes
And it don’t mean nothin’

♥ ♥ ♥

Readers – What has inspired or interested you this week? What have you been learning?

4 thoughts on “HAPPY FRIDAY: Suit up.”

Leave a Reply

