Happy Friday!

Happy Friday, everyone! It’s Memorial Day weekend here in the States, and I am excited for the three-day weekend ahead. My schedule seems full already, with a cherry-picking excursion, a barbecue, and a volleyball match lined up, but nevertheless I plan to squeeze in some quality reading time, as well as get some much-needed rest. (I got sick last weekend; still recovering.)

Before I sign off for the weekend, I want to leave you guys with a couple of memorable videos that I came across this week.

♦ ♦ ♦

Neil Gaiman’s commencement speech to the class of 2012 at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia

Neil Gaiman’s speech is pure gold. It’s chock full of wisdom, and so inspiring and uplifting; I really think it’s a must-watch for every creative out there with an Internet connection.

Seriously. Watch, watch, watch.

♦ ♦ ♦

Trailer for Baz Luhrmann’s adaptation of The Great Gatsby, starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Tobey Maguire, and Carey Mulligan.

I’ve purposefully kept myself at a distance from any sort of promotional material for the upcoming film adaptation of Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby. Call me jaded, but I’m more or less convinced that this book is simply unadaptable. I’ve watched the Robert Redford version, as well as the Toby Stephens version, and neither really felt … right. But out of sheer curiosity I relented and watched the trailer, and … well, I’m very intrigued now, and I may just change my mind about the book being unadaptable. I like that classic Luhrmann is written all over the film. I think it fits the story, and it fits the restless, decadent spirit of the 1920s.

The movie is set to come out Christmas Day, which means there’s still half a year of waiting to sludge through. But on the bright side, that means there’s plenty of time to re-read the novel!

♦ ♦ ♦

Post-wise, I have something in the works for Haruki Murakami’s After Dark, as well as Alan Bradley’s A Red Herring Without Mustard, which I finally finished re-reading, so be on the look-out for those next week. In the meantime, have a wonderful weekend, and take a moment to remember the men and women of our armed forces, especially those who have died in service to our country.

Readers — What have you got planned for the weekend? What have you come across that has inspired or encouraged you this week? Is there a book that you are convinced is unadaptable?

Leave a Reply

