2010: A Year in Review

[ Image Source ]

It has been an okay year, as far as books go. There were a lot of new reads, and some of them from genres that I had previous not touched before. For that small accomplishment, I am proud of myself. My goal for 2011 is to read more books that are not only from unfamiliar genres (nonfiction, ahem) but also from unfamiliar parts of the world. I am rather embarrassed to admit, but I have yet to read a single Russian classic. Yes, that’s right. I, Jennifer, English major, have not read a single Russian classic. Thankfully, I have a few on my bookshelf so I can start with those, lest I be chased out of polite, bibliophilic society. Or be disowned by my Russian classics-loving friends (Corrie, I’m looking at you).

New reads:

  • The Remains of the Day, by Kazuo Ishiguro.
  • A Fist in the Hornet’s Nest, by Richard Engel.
  • When We Were Orphans, by Kazuo Ishiguro.
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.
  • East of Eden, by John Steinbeck. [pending]
  • Right Thinking in a World Gone Wrong, by John Macarthur.
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles, by Arthur Conan Doyle.
  • People of the Book, by Geraldine Brooks. [here]
  • The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. [here]
  • Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins. [here]
  • Why Didn’t They Ask Evans?, by Agatha Christie.
  • I Capture the Castle, by Dodie Smith. [pending]
  • The Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein. [pending]

Re-reads:

  • Emma, by Jane Austen.
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, by J. K. Rowling [here]
  • Atonement, by Ian McEwan. [here]
  • Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë. [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3 – pending]
  • The Historian, by Elizabeth Kostova. [pending]

Abandoned reads:

  • Bleak House, by Charles Dickens. [here]

Yes, I have quite a number of pending posts. I wonder if I’ll ever be caught up.

3 thoughts on “2010: A Year in Review”

Leave a Reply

