New old books

My recent acquisitions, courtesy of the used book sale Jeanee and I visited this weekend.

1. Devil in the White City, by Erik Larson.
2. I Capture the Castle, by Dodie Smith.
3. Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier.
4. The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck.
5. The Brothers Karamazov, by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.
6. The Portable James Joyce
7. Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy.

All rather heavy and/or depressing stories, I’ve only just realized, but I look forward to reading them in the coming months.

ETA — I apologize for not being more active on this blog. I’m hunting down new employment opportunities on top of prepping for Nanowrimo, which means less time to write (or read or do anything else really). But I am working on a Book Notes post for my latest read, and I promise to get that out soonish.

5 thoughts on “New old books”

  1. Jenn, hi =)!
    This is Jenny Um (mmm not sure if we had many encounters) but I do remember sitting next to you during “The Little Prince” musical/play at Berkeley.
    I hope you remember me lool
    I RANDOMLY came across your blog and was so glad/sad at the same time for having found it/not finding it sooner.
    although i wonder if i would have appreciated it as much because I didn’t read much in college…
    I just wanted to say hello! and that I enjoy reading your posts <3
    I'm currently reading Anna Karaenina :) so I thought I'd post here.

    1. JENNY! You silly goose, of course I remember you! How have you been? What have you been up to? How did you come across my blog? (Haha, sorry for the rapid fire.) Thanks for stopping by and saying hi. :)

Leave a Reply

